Secure cluster-based routing using multi objective-trust centric artificial algae algorithm for wireless sensor network

Divyashree Habbanakuppe Balachandra, Puttamadappa Chaluve Gowda, Nandini Prasad Kanakapura Shivaprasad


Nowadays, wireless sensor network (WSN) is developed as a key technology to observe and track applications over a wide range. However, energy consumption and security are considered as important issues in the WSN. In this paper, the multi objective-trust centric artificial algae algorithm (M-TCAAA) is proposed to accomplish a secure broadcasting over the WSN. The proposed M-TCAAA is used to choose the secure cluster head (SCH) as well as routing path, based on the distinct fitness measures such as trust, communication cost, residual energy, and node degree. Hence, the M-TCAAA is used to ensure a secure data transmission while decreasing the energy consumed by the nodes. The performance of the M-TCAAA is analyzed by means of energy consumption, packet delivery ratio (PDR), throughput, end to end delay (EED), normalized routing load (NRL), and network lifetime. The existing researches namely energy aware trust and opportunity-based routing with mobile nodes (ETOR-MN), grey wolf updated whale optimization (GUWO), secure cluster-based routing protocol (SCBRP), secure routing protocol based on multi-objective ant-colony-optimization (SRPMA) and multi objective trust aware hybrid optimization (MOTAHO) are considered for evaluating the M-TCAAA. The PDR of the M-TCAAA for 100 nodes is 99.87%, which is larger than the ETOR-MN, GUWO, SRPMA and MOTAHO.


energy consumption; multi objective-trust centric artificial algae algorithm; packet delivery ratio; wireless sensor network;

Full Text:



Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

International Journal of Electrical and Computer Engineering (IJECE)
p-ISSN 2088-8708, e-ISSN 2722-2578

This journal is published by the Institute of Advanced Engineering and Science (IAES) in collaboration with Intelektual Pustaka Media Utama (IPMU).